Tell Me Rude Boy…ARE YOU SERIOUS?!

3/28/10

Tell Me Rude Boy…ARE YOU SERIOUS?!

Why OH WHY this was an acceptable song choice for Rihanna at THE KIDS CHOICE AWARDS?!  Oh excuse me, if I’ve lost you please allow me to explain…here are some lyrics of Rihanna’s #1 song Rude Boy:

Tell me rude boy, boy can you get it up?

Tell me rude boy, boy is you big enough?

Take it, take it baby, baby

Take it, take it, love me, love me

That was JUST the chorus people.  The video is EVEN worse.  Now, give me a moment to clarify…I LOVE this song.  It makes me feel all types of sexy when I hear it in the club or while winding my hips in the mirror at home.  Please note the locations in which I thoroughly enjoy this record.  In the club and in my iPod in the crib…I. Am. An. Adult.

Honestly, this song is an example of MANY that do not belong ANYWHERE but the CD.  This song ABSOLUTELY doesn’t belong on a nationally televised programming, ON A CHILDREN’S NETWORK nonetheless.  Unfortunately, I’m referring to Nickelodeon’s Kid’s Choice Awards, which aired Saturday, March 27th this year.  Rihanna performed a medley of Hard (sigh), Please Don’t Stop The Music, and (big ass sigh) Rude Boy.  Below is an excerpt from the superstar’s interview with Diane Sawyer following her incident with Chris Brown:

“These are young girls and I just didn’t realize how much of an impact I had on these girls’ lives until that happened.” –Rihanna

*Intense side eye – Really?! I sincerely doubt that you were totally ignorant to that fact Ms. Fenton, stop lying.  Even the very sexually explicit Nicki Minaj has TRIED to tone it down for the kids.

“I just have a lot of younger fans now and I didn’t anticipate that when I came out.  When the younger people started really following me I just wanted to be more responsible with what I said and did because I don’t want young girls out here thinking that it’s cool to be stupid or to be hoe,” she said. “That’s not what I promote.  I promote being a business savvy girly girl that likes to be witty and have fun and at the same time just balance a career…” – Nicki Minaj to SOHH.com

Now, I don’t know how TRUE that is…but hell at least she made the concerted effort to acknowledge the fact that she has younger fans.  Rihanna’s been out and widely, um, available for a few years, definitely long enough to know her following demographic.  And if Ms. Fenton was too lazy to look into it, I KNOW her team has done the research, if for no other reason than to track record sales.  All artists need to understand that they will be held accountable for what they put out.  If you disagree with that, then do not express yourself to the masses.

–Jelz Out!

5 Comments

  1. Word! At first I didnt know wat u was talkin cause i can barely understand wtf she be sayin on the song lol. But yea way to inappropriate for the lil ones.

  2. Two things — First, is there NO ONE left to mediate what is and isn’t appropriate for certain performances? You mean to tell me that there wasn’t a single person to raise an eyebrow or do a double take when Rihanna decided to do “Rude Boy”? So I guess caring about the innocence of our youth is just out the window, huh? Well, that’s just a shame that the industry is so driven by sex that it can’t talke a step back for ONE occasion to produce something tasteful. As for Rihanna, didn’t she feel a little bit of guilt when choosing that song? I mean she’s the one singing it, has to memorize, internalize, and PROJECT the lyrics. Come on girl!! Which leads me to #2

    Second…. B*$&! YOU KNOW THOSE GIRLS ARE LOOKING UP TO YOU!! Just like when you came here at 16 with your “Pon de Replay,” you had little girls screaming your name on the red carpet. You thought that would change?? Yea they grew up, but their little sisters are now in their place, and definitely remember their older sisters dancing in their rooms to your music. You think they aren’t going to imitate them or YOU?! At least admit your influence, then say what you do is right for you at this stage in your life, and is no where near ok for a girl 10 years old. That’s like saying Charles Barkley doesn’t/didn’t influence kids and basketball…. He still got that DUI tho… but he handled it and admitted his wrong. Come on girl…!

  3. Ridiculous! My niece watched that show and she’s like 6. I definitely don’t want her to go to 1st grade and ask the boys her age if they can “get it up.” Nickelodeon and Rhianna’s camp are to blame; both should have chosen more kid friendly material for the show. I just hope Rude Boy isn’t featured on Kidz Bop 15…a bunch of prepubescent girls asking a “rude boy” if he could “get it up” would be a pedophile’s dream come true.

  4. I definitely think this issue is a double-edged sword. One the one hand, you have a 20-something singer/entertainer working to not only please the masses but turn a profit for the music forces that be. On the other, Rihanna does have a significant amount of younger girls following her career. So how do you find a happy medium between the two?

    I suppose you must monitor (esp. during live performances) who the target audience is and react accordingly. In this case, Nickelodeon was not the most appropriate place to perform Rude Boy no matter how you tweak the original lyrics. However (a lil in her defense) the talent does not have as much of a say in the Programs line-up as many think, but she is the one that deals with the burden and after-math if seen negatively. Many times the Programs producers etc create the show/songs to be performed because at the end of the day RATINGS=$. So if you have the performer playing their most popular hit at the time, ratings increase.

    So how does one communicate this same message (Young influences vs. their influencers) to those behind the scenes? Do we increase censorship in the music and media or do we change the way the image is perceived by these younger viewers? Which is more important– because artists like Rihanna and Nikki Minaj are not the last to come…

  5. Great article (Rude Boy), blog and website Jelli. WIth your company Hip Hop definitely has Hope. Pce n Luv.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

